Throw back Thursday

DSCN2502 So lots of people have been posting TBT otherwise known as Throwback Thursday. Well here is a TBT picture that really helps me reflect on where I have been and especially where I am currently! This was taking only a few years back in 2011. This was my most unhealthiest I have ever been in my life. I’m not just talking about the number on the scale but overall health. I remember during this time where I had such a hard time keeping up with my kids. I was tired all the time and I wasn’t active at all EVER! The saddest part of it was that I was only 28 years old a time when many people are in their best shape of their lives.

So now let’s fast forward to today, 2014, I am now 3 years older and I have so much energy. My kids have a hard time keeping up with me. I have now been working out consistently for 2 years and I can honestly say I am so much healthier and happier as well. So I didn’t lose an extreme amount of weight but the way I feel about myself and my health are so much more important. I have reached my goals in some aspects but that doesn’t stop anything, the show must go on. I must continue to set goals for myself and to reach them in all aspects of life. I used to think if I could just lose weight, then I would be skinny and then I can eat how I want again. No one ever taught me that it’s not about a crash diet, and only working out when you are bigger, it has to be for life.

My point in all of this isn’t to brag on myself but simply to try to inspire those of you out there who feel like you can’t do it! I’m proof that you can do, if I did it anyone can achieve their goals. It’s simply about that make small goals for yourself and slowly achieving them. Set yourself up for positive changes and realize it’s not about dieting, it’s about changing your choices. This doesn’t mean you can’t ever eat the unhealthy things that you love, it means that you don’t eat (or drink) them all the time. MODERATION! It means get off your couch and go for a walk and then do it the next day again and again. Then once that isn’t challenging anymore start to jog, pretty soon you may even enjoy this new-found “hobby”.

My lifestyle now compared to then is night and day. Now I am focused on teaching my children about good nutrition and about being active. That was never in my upbringing so I am hoping that by teaching them at a young age maybe they will not have to go through this struggle that their mother went through. I’m so passionate about helping others in life and this is something that really can make people’s lives longer and more enjoyable. You don’t have to start big just start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

