Fitness Friday SGO Fitness

gogartys

This Fitness Friday I am going to focus on the people who really helped me get to where I am today. As I have said before I never was active my entire life. Well a little over 2 years ago a good friend of mine gave me a gift certificate for a free month of boot camp! As a girl who likes the word FREE I knew I needed to use this coupon. I received it for Christmas, so my plan was to start in January as so many people often do.

I remember the night before my first day, I was terrified, just the words boot camp brought me to thinking of Jillian Michaels screaming in my ear, or my worst fear being humiliated in front of people I don’t know. I barely got any sleep that night just playing through possible scenarios of what I knew was going to happen to me.

Well the day came and I went through with my new found resolution to lose weight and get into shape, for probably the first time in my life. My fears and worries were all wrong of course as we all find in life most times. What I did find however was a family. These were people who I could share jokes with, who would learn to know me so well that they can push me to levels I could never begin to push myself. I found a support system that is so important in a weight loss situation.

As I said this was two years ago and I am still a part of the SGO Fitness family. The whole group is amazing. I have met people of all types who I have learned so much about life from, which has also shaped me into who I am today. I have reached goals that I NEVER thought I would ever begin to accomplish. Most importantly I have friends who I know consider family. Even when my family moves to a new duty station I know they will remain a big part of my life forever.

I have heard so many people talking about bad experiences with trainers, or in gyms. So many people begin that resolution like I did that January and they don’t have a happy ending like I do today. They have the opposite experience happen to them. I am overjoyed that my fears were wrong and that I took that step into the unknown because I don’t know where I would be today if I hadn’t taken that step.
So for any friends out there who are having a hard time getting started or feel like your road is many miles long, it’s so important to find an activity that you love just like I love boot camp. IT will make all the difference in your success. Find friends who are uplifting and encouraging just like my SGO Fitness family.

I’m not saying that this journey is over by any means, or that I haven’t had sore muscles or never wanted to give up. All those things have happened multiple times, but Sean and Sarah Gogarty are the kind of people that will lift you up and remain positive in any situation. Thanks Sean and Sarah for your friendship, positive attitudes, and knowing just the words to say in every situation! I love you both!

Local Friends if you want to join in my experience and start your journey to health, it doesn’t matter what shape you are in or your age. Ability level doesn’t matter either. They will make it possible for anyone to participate in fitness and you will enjoy it on the way! http://www.sgofitness.com

Here’s a workout I did with SGO this week for anyone to try.

SGO Fitness Bootcamp Workout
By: Sarah Gogarty (ACE-CPT)

Dynamic Warm up (10 minutes)

Bodyweight no rest HIIT circuits
30 seconds work, no rest x 3 sets

Wide squats
Heel clicks
Alternating Side Lunges
Skaters

1/2 Burpees
Squat Kicks
Mountain Climbers
Bike crunches

Push Up Jacks
Back Extensions
Surfers
Toe Touch Crunch

Toe taps in right
Sprinter start right
Toe taps in left
Sprinter start left

Burpees
Chatteranga
Boxer fast feet
Boxer shuffle

Cool Down and Stretch

Leave a Reply

